ALBUMS album 2 of 11 | Previous   Next

The Feel Of Life

released 28 April 2014
Almus Jazz (ALM 16147)
  • Mike Allen (soprano sax)
  • Miles Black (piano)
  1. You Must Believe In Spring
  2. Some Enchanted Evening
  3. San Miguel
  4. I Wish I Knew
  5. Say It (Over And Over Again)
  6. Stardust
  7. Nature Boy
  8. Lush Life

Liner Notes

Download the full album FREE (copy and paste this URL)

The Feel Of Life CD Review
by David Altic | Independent Writer

An actual feel gets conjured that returns for me the two classic ballad albums of years ago - Coltrane Plays for Lovers and Gene Ammons’ Gentle Jug. The same unforced and tireless beauty. It’s something you’d think would be encountered often, but you absolutely don’t. Effort and desire and manipulation are constant. The ability to trust and let be is too rare. We don’t have the talent to allow things their say. It’s hard won and never simply reached. It’s a climb attempted again and again. A matter of regaining innocence and courage.

Really a lovely go - not just the restraint, but the putting forth of essence. The deep sense of love that fools silence and obscure is present throughout.